Rachel Sermanni’s second album released to critical acclaim.

‘Tied to the Sun’, the follow up to 2012’s Under Mountains, was borne out of time spent staying at a pottery studio owned by two-time Juno Award winner Old Man Luedecke. During the four days spent in Nova Scotia, she “unintentionally” wrote the basis of six of the songs that found their way on to the new album.

The new album, which Rachel alluded to in our last interview with her  “channel[s] spirits of all ages and archetypes, weaving images of childhood and womanhood, of instinct and inhibition”. The lead single from the album ‘Tractor’ (below) emphasises a change in approach

Returning to the fold for the album are frequent collaborators, Colin Macleod (recording and production), Jennifer Austin (piano, organ and backing vocals), Gordon Skene (bass and cello) and Louis Linklater (drums).

The album has received consistent praise in the national press, including Helen Brown of The Telegraph who observes “Things get grungy on the second album from this fresh-faced, Scottish “folk noir” singer and the grinding guitars prove a gritty foil for the rich, thoughtful vocals showcased on her 2012 debut Under Mountains.”

Currently announced UK dates (including a returning Eden Court appearance);

Friday 31st July, Gentlemen of the Road Stopover, Aviemore
Saturday 1st August, Southbank Centre, London
Tuesday 22nd September, Cecil Sharp House, London
Wednesday 23rd September, The Basement, York
Friday 25th September, Unity Works, Wakefield
Sunday 27th September, Queens Cross Church, Aberdeen
Wednesday 30th September, Inchyra Arts Club, Perth
Friday 2nd October, The Queens Hall, Edinburgh
Monday 5th October, Eden Court, Inverness
Tuesday 6th October, Oran Mor, Glasgow

Buy Tied To The Moonir?t=wwwinvernessg 21&l=as2&o=2&a=B00XBZBUV4 - Tied to the Sun, released.